SO THAT’S WHAT IT WAS

PhotobucketI finally have a name for this strange pain I’ve experienced in my abdomen just a few times in the last couple of weeks… Braxton-Hicks contractions!

I first had one maybe a couple weeks ago, but thought it was just some really strong indigestion or acid build up in my stomach. It was sharp pain that radiated all over my abdomen. Sometimes I’d have to stop whatever I was doing just to brace myself until it went away. It only lasted several seconds, and if I changed positions, it would tend to dissipate.

Well, tonight, it was particularly strong, and lasted longer. It was the first time I put two and two together and ran to my pregnancy book to read more. That’s when I discovered I’ve likely been experiencing BH contractions. Again, they are infrequent, there is no telling when they’ll come, and I’ve only had maybe 3 in the last 3 weeks.

I wasn’t aware BH contractions could happen this early, but, according to the book, it can happen as early as 20 weeks. I think my first was probably around 23 weeks. (I’m 26 on Monday.)

I don’t know why I think this is so cool, but this is one of the coolest parts of the pregnancy (for me), so far! I think it’s because when I’ve always dreamed of being pregnant, I’ve never romanticized or really thought about the 9 months preceding the labor. (Except for getting a positive pregnancy test — I’ve always wanted that). But when I’ve always thought about pregnancy, my mind has always jumped right to the labor and delivery. THAT, to me, is the most exciting part. It’s the culmination of everything. It’s getting to see what has been inside you for so long. To me, labor and delivery is the crescendo of the miracle.

SO, the fact that my body is “practicing” for the finale is just beyond cool to me!

Thank you, Jesus, for this gift.

Leave a Reply

