A FATHER’S LOVE

PhotobucketI’ve had the joy and the blessing of not only watching my husband be a loving father to his three older children, but also to see him try to be better and better for them everyday. He’s reflective and goes to the Word. His heart is open to their feedback, and to mine. I’ve often said that if I had not seen Scott be such a thoughtful father I wouldn’t have had the courage to bring a child or children into this world… leaving Cambria and Julia unborn.

Our conversations and prayers lasted years as to whether we were supposed to have more children. Through those times I grew a great deal while also learning so much more about Scott. I faced my own fears and strengthened in my faith to trust someone other than myself. God used every one of those days to lead us to the beautiful family we have right now.

I couldn’t imagine three older children loving their baby sisters any more… even our son, who desperately wanted a brother!! I can only say they follow his example of the patience and kindness that Scott has displayed for them everyday. His older children know without a doubt that their dad’s love is unending… just like God’s. They have no fears that they have or will ever become anything less is his eyes because we have brought two more children into our family.

God gave us the perfect recipe for growing our family through embryo adoption, in that the older children have been able to be involved since the beginning and we all feel as if we’ve adopted together. It’s only strengthened our family rather than create divides. It’s a sentiment that Scott and I talked about quite a bit and made a conscious effort to translate to the big kids, but the inspiration came from God… we’re all brothers and sisters in God’s kingdom.

I love our family… we call it the Splendid Blended Family… and it all came to be from the courage and vision my husband has had as a father and to step out on faith, trusting that God would lead us through. Scott never expected to have five children, but he stepped with obedience onto the path God placed before us when He introduced us to embryo adoption. Already having three beautiful children, and quite frankly being personally fulfilled as a father, Scott opened his heart and completely embraced whatever God had prepared for us next… and I know without a doubt he wouldn’t change a thing… he loves our little miracles with all his heart. I thank God for him, as well as my precious little girls, everyday.

I love you sweetheart. Thank you for bringing our babies, two more of God’s precious children, into this world… He is very pleased. Happy Father’s Day.

1 Chronicles 29:17 I know, my God, that you test the heart and are pleased with integrity. All these things I have given willingly and with honest intent. And now I have seen with joy how willingly your people who are here have given to you.

Leave a Reply

