A DIAGNOSIS AFTER TWO DECADES

Photobucket

 

 

 

 

 

I have Hashimoto’s disease.

At age 13, I went in for a routine physical. The doctor noticed a large bump in my throat. He said it was cancer. (I think he was a med student). For many months, I saw an endocrinologist. I eventually learned I had a problem with my thyroid and have been on medication ever since. I never really knew how important it was, so I was not always great about taking it. When I didn’t take it, I noticed I’d get extremely fatigued, so that’s when I’d remember to take it.

But I was never diagnosed with the cause of my thyroid dysfunction. Your thyroid doesn’t just stop working for no reason. Especially at 13.

Today, I got the results back from a blood panel that confirms I have Hashimoto’s. (That’s right, I was never officially diagnosed until today. And that is probably because it may not matter why you have hypothyroidism, the treatment would be the same). Except, if you have ever experienced infertility, then knowing you have Hashimoto’s means a lot.

In a nutshell, Hashimoto’s is an autoimmune disorder that leads to hypothyroidism. An autoimmune disease occurs when your own immune system attacks your organs, cells, tissues, or glands. In Hashimoto’s, it targets and destroys the functioning of the thyroid gland.

Why is this particularly important to me? Well, although my thyroid has been “controlled” for a long time with medication, for many years it was not controlled or not well controlled. It has very likely led to an effect on my egg quality, and hence, our inability to conceive or maintain a pregnancy. Especially because it was diagnosed (and who knows for how long had been previously untreated) right at the time I started menstruating as a pre-teen.

Another interesting insight about Hashimoto’s? It also explains my sensitivity to gluten. I did go gluten-free for 4 months before we got pregnant, and until the second trimester.

To not be doom and gloom, many, many people with Hashimoto’s successfully conceive and carry a pregnancy to term. But, it is at least helpful and interesting to know that it is probably the biggest reason why we have had so much difficulty.

AND? God is SOOOOOOO much bigger than this. This diagnosis today was not at all a surprise to Him. He’s known it all along. And, He got us pregnant.

Whenever I start to think about how big my problems are, I just remember how BIG my God is!!!!!! There is nothing He cannot overcome.

“Who is like you among the gods, O Lord, glorious in holiness, awesome in splendor, performing great wonders? — Exodus 15:11

Leave a Reply

