GO FORTH AND MULTIPLY

Be fruitful and multiply, bring forth abundantly in the earth, and multiply therein.
Genesis 9:7.

Through my years of infertility, I sought wisdom from the bible of Gods plan for my life. This verse always frustrated me. It went against what my body was allowing me to do; “be fruitful and multiply.” If God’s plan for His people was to reproduce and multiply, then why couldn’t I. For many years, I thought I was being punished. Punished for something I must have done in my past. Punished for not being the woman God wanted me to be.

A few years ago there was an “explosion” of pregnancies at our church. Five pregnancies had been announced within several months. People would comment, “If you don’t want to get pregnant, don’t drink the water.” If that were true, I would have bathed in it. I wish it were that easy.

I wondered what these women were doing that I was not. I can remember, as if it were yesterday, one of these women announced her third pregnancy at church one morning. Her youngest was just a year old. Pregnant again, already, I had thought. Why would God bless her with three beautiful children, and other women like me with none? She must be a woman with a heart for God. Mine was hardening.

I tried to think of women who had bigger burdens to bear. Women who had cancer. Women who had lost children. The list could go on and on. Still nothing could fill the void in my heart, after hearing each pregnancy announcement.

I had to seek truth. God does not simply punish us because of our shortcomings. In the pages of scripture, I found answers. One of my favorite verses in the bible is Jeremiah 29:11-14. “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans to give you a hope and a future, and not of harm. For if you call upon My name, and search Me with all of your heart, I will be found by you, and deliver you from captivity.”

This is one of the verses that helped me persevere during our infertility. God had plans for me. He is not trying to “harm” or punish me. He does not punish us because of our failures. He does not say, “I will bless this one, but not that one because she is a sinner.” We are all sinners. I had to trust. God is good.

This year has been another “explosion” of pregnancies at our church. Ten announcements and/or births occurred within the last year. John Luke was one of them. The picture below is at a dinner with some of the babies born in the latest “Baby Explosion.”

I don’t know What holds your future, but I know the One who holds it.

Pray, trust, and persevere.
photo1

Leave a Reply

