GOOD ENOUGH

God has caused a “stirring” in my heart lately. A series of events caused me to think that I was not juggling my new role as a mom, as well as, I should be doing. Well, let me say as well as, I have thought other new moms are doing.

We live in a performance based culture. If you’re like me, you often place value of yourself in how well you, or the people around you think you are doing.

I am not good enough, I tell myself.

“Other babies John Luke’s age are sleeping through the night. I am not doing a good job at getting him on a schedule.” I am not good enough, I tell myself.

“I wasn’t prepared for that meeting, I’m not juggling my responsibilities as a volunteer and as a mom.” I am not good enough, I tell myself.

“I don’t think she responded positively to my actions, I should have done that differently.”
Again, I am not good enough, I tell myself.

God has been revealing to me, that often it is not my performance that is lacking. Many times, my thoughts are what need tweaking. If we live our lives in comparison to other people, we will often fall short and never fully realize our potential. We will never truly become the person God specifically designed us to be.

Ephesians 2:10 “For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”

We can learn from those who have stronger abilities, and strive to do better in the future. Use their strengths as a learning tool, and know that your strengths may be different. When we place our worthiness, in comparing our performance to another, it causes us to create doubts in our own abilities.

A thought keeps coming to my mind. That I am “set apart” to do the will of my Father. I need to live for Him, and not for what other people think of me. Nor, should I place my value in how well I performed, on a particular task, on a given day.

God is speaking to my heart, that I don’t need to feel defeated every time something doesn’t go as planned. That if we stay “bogged down” in wishing we could get a do-over, every time we fall short of perfection; Satan will use that to keep us from reaching our fabulous and fully capable self.

So, be you, be fab. You are more than Good Enough. I am too.

Leave a Reply

