NOW I LAY ME DOWN TO SLEEP

Okay, so in a previous blog, I mentioned other babies John Luke’s age are sleeping through the night. Well, two babies are his age, the other baby is a month or so older. But still, they are all sleeping through the night.

Ughhh! Sleep apparently crimps my little man’s style. I feed on demand. Mostly bottle. He only likes to breastfeed when he is really tired such as before a nap, or in the middle of the night. I’ve had people say their child was sleeping through the night at two months, and others say their child didn’t sleep through the night until two years of age. Every child is different.

My friend suggested I try feeding at 3:00, 7:00, and 11:00. I thought this would help me get him on a schedule. Wank, wank wank. He would either be too hungry to wait until the next feeding time and be inconsolable, or would only eat about 2-3 oz and be hungry two hours later. I am not a big fan of the cry-out method, so I would usually cave, although it was not time for a full feeding.

For that reason I am trying to feed him every four hours, whatever time that may be. Keep him awake, as long as possible, and then put him down for a nap. During the night, he will occasionally sleep five hours before time for the next feeding.

Typically, he is ready for a bottle around 8:30pm, and falls to sleep around 9:30 or 10:00pm. Up again sometime between 12:30-2:30am, and again around 6:30am, depending on when he had his bottle during the night. Then, he wakes up for the duration around 8:30am. He takes 20-30 minute power naps during the day every 2-3 hours, but sometimes they last as few as 15 minutes.

I am hoping to get him on a regular feeding and sleeping schedule soon. My lactation consultant advised against putting him on a regimented schedule. She said that he will tell you when he is ready to eat. However, it will be sweet to have some regularity in our day.

Otherwise, life is good in the Foster household. BTW, the baby is finally sleeping! Life is real good.

2 thoughts on “NOW I LAY ME DOWN TO SLEEP

  1. I don’t know you but your posts make me chuckle…. Oh the frustration of trying to get a baby on a “schedule”! Pleeeeease give yourself a break…you’re doing a great job whether your baby sleeps through the night or not. John Luke may not adapt to a “schedule” for a very long time but he will someday and then all of your sleepless nights will seem like a distant memory.

    Honestly I think I exhausted myself more trying to figure out how to get my babies to do what I thought they should than if I had just gone along with their lead and surrendered to the lack of rhythm in those first few months of life. Having said that I know that if God blesses our family with more children I will probably go through the same frustrations because I like rhythm and structure to my days!!

    Anyway, John Luke is blessed to have you as his mommy. Just keep loving on that precious little boy!

  2. Hi Jennifer. Good to hear from you. I love rhythm and structure! But I am learing to go with the flow and adapt to his schedule. His needs are what it’s all about anyway since he is the number one priority. The sweet moments far out weigh the frustrations, that’s for sure. I know your precious ones are lucky to have you as a mommy as well. I hope you get your wish of more children if it is your hearts desire. Keep in touch and best of luck to you and your family.

    Tamara

Leave a Reply

