A MOTHER’S CHARACTER

Mother’s Day had me thinking about what kind of mom I want to be to John Luke.

Here are a few random thoughts I want John Luke to know:

*I want to be a mom who nurtures.
*I want to be a mom who can act silly and make you laugh.
*I want to be a mom who disciplines but always with love.
*I want to be a mom who teaches you about family and traditions.
*I want to be a mom who lets you get dirty even if you’re in your good clothes.
*I want to be a mom who packs your lunch for school.
*I want to be a mom who teaches you values and right from wrong.
*I want to be a mom who attends PTA meetings.
*I want to be a mom who makes snacks for you and your friends when they come over.
*I want to be a mom who is a cub scout leader.
*I want to be a mom who takes you to T-ball, and to soccer, and to music lessons.
*I want to be a mom who delights in having family time around the dinner table.
*I want to be a mom who drives you to school.
*I want to be a mom who can disagree without being disagreeable.
*I want to be a mom who is a mom first and a friend second.
*I want to be a mom who is understanding and compassionate.
*I want to be a mom who listens to what you have to say.
*I want to be a mom who takes you camping and hiking.
*I want to be a mom who teaches you to respect others and to be respected.
*I want to be a mom who instills confidence in you so that you can have it in yourself.
*I want to be a mom who shows you how to honor and value women.
*I want to be a mom who puts her child’s needs ahead of her own.
*I want to be a mom who mentors you to think positively and for yourself.
*I want to be a mom who shows you love and how to be loved.
*I want to be a mom of good character and moral standing.

Most of all I want to be a mom who you will be honored to say, “This is my mom.”
I consider this role as my highest calling and privilege.

Leave a Reply

